Skip to content


Lawrenceburg, with a population of 11,795, has been a hub since its incorporation in 1820. It became the county seat of Anderson County in 1827. Despite enduring four major fires in the 19th and early 20th centuries, the downtown area boasts numerous historic buildings listed on the National Register of Historic Places in the Downtown Commercial Historic District.

The town’s third courthouse, built in 1915, stands as a testament to its enduring importance in the region’s agriculture and commerce. Notably, Lawrenceburg hosts bourbon distilleries like Wild Turkery Distillery (1888), Four Roses Bourbon Distillery (1910) and the newest Lawrenceburg Bourbon Company (2022). Before Prohibition, Anderson County hosted 14 different distilleries and with Old Commonwealth and McBrayer opening within the next three years, Anderson County is well on its way to being one of the biggest bourbon towns in Kentucky.

Lawrenceburg’s strategic location near cities like Frankfort, Louisville, and Lexington has fueled its growth. However, it’s also dedicated to preserving its rich history. In 2005, the city repurposed the historic Old Post Office Building (1910) for its offices, showcasing a commitment to both development and heritage. Recognized as a Preserve America Community in August 2005, Lawrenceburg continues to blend its past with present progress.